Welcome to Delicious Brews, a blog about beer, damn good beer, and maybe sometimes damn good coffee, but probably mostly beer. I’m a recent college graduate, which means that I’m currently looking for a real job and have a lot of free time on my hands. I wait tables to make ends meet and with the little extra money I have, I spend mostly on beer and food. I figure why not. They both make me happy, and seeing how I spent the last five years of my life buried in books, writing pointless essays and getting into some serious debt, I deserve it. So this blog will serve as a way for me to share my appreciation for the good things in life and hopefully you find something here that can make you life happier too.

Dogfish Head Punkin Ale

Ok now that we got all the boring stuff out of the way let’s get to the good stuff. Went to a local Taco Mac this evening for dinner with some friends and finally had a chance to try out the Punkin Ale on draft from the always fantastic Dogfish Brewing. The appearance was a clear amber that got darker near the top. The head was small, white and laced the glass nicely as I drank it.The first sip is like getting hit in the face with a pumpkin pie. I mean there is a lot of spice in this bad boy, nutmeg, cinnamon and probably an actual pumpkin pie thrown in for good measure. It’s a delicious brew, in fact I’d say it’s pretty damn phenomenal, but with food it was hard to finish. It’s already a bit on the heavy side at 7% abv and when you factor that in with the sweetness, it’s not really a sessionable beer. With that said I definitely recommend it, just not along with a buffalo chicken sandwich and a side of fries. Drink this beer on it’s own and a couple hours after a meal and I’m sure you’ll enjoy it much better.

You’re welcome